About Us

Mississippi Mud Pie was founded early 1998 by Don Johnson and Jan-Willem Kanis as they enjoyed a freshly cooked Mississippi mud pie after dinner. Don, born in Texas USA and raised in more countries one can count, had just left his former band “Question”. Before he moved to The Netherlands Don joined the Musicians Institute (GIT) in LA for several years. Jan-Willem, born and raised  in Amsterdam, played in several Dutch based bands “Red Band”, “Groove Explosion”. The band linking the two members is “Question”. Jan-Willem joined this band in 1997.

The former bass player of Question Ruud de Jong joined the Muds quite soon after the formation. Unfortunately Ruud past away in March 2006. Two members joined the Muds from the south of the Netherlands. Bert Timmermans (ex Kek) on drums and Niek Versfeld (ex Collector’s Item) on keyboards. In the early days Michael Vos and Linda Aalders both joined the band as lead vocalists. Michael left the band in 2000. Linda did the major part of the vocals until May 2007 on her own. Guillaume Lo-A-Njoe joined the band on bass guitar (June 2006). Nienke de Jong (ex Red Band) joined the band in May 2007. Linda left that same period. Early 2014 Don Johnson decided to leave the band after 16 years. He was succeeded by Hugo de Bruin (ex Diesel, Cheyenne, Time Bandits, Margriet Eshuijs, and Ten Sharp). Two years later, Hugo left MMP, reducing the number of band members to five. Last change in line up was in 2019. Guillaume decided to leave the band. He is succeeded by Peter Gumbmann.

The two non playing members of the band are Andre Raats and Hans Monfrooy.

So far, Mississippi Mud Pie already have given dozens of performances around the country.


CD “Mud Tracks”

About Us

Band Members



Ruud de Jong